Disaster Assistance Available for California Small Businesses

Sacramento, CA – Small, nonfarm businesses in 33 California counties and neighboring counties in Nevada are now eligible to apply for lowinterest federal disaster loans from the U. S. Small Business Administration (SBA).  “These loans offset economic losses because of reduced revenues caused by the drought that began January 1, 2012, in the following primary counties,” announced Alfred E. Judd, Director of SBA’s Disaster Field Operations Center-West.
Primary California counties:  Contra Costa, Glenn, Kings, Placer, San Joaquin, Santa Clara, and Stanislaus;
Neighboring California counties:  Alameda, Amador, Butte, Calaveras, Colusa, El Dorado, Fresno, Kern, Lake, Marin, Mariposa, Mendocino, Merced, Monterey, Nevada, Sacramento, San Benito, San Luis Obispo, San Mateo, Santa Cruz, Solano, Sutter, Tehama, Tulare, Tuolumne, and Yuba;
Neighboring Nevada counties:  Carson City, Douglas, Washoe.
“SBA eligibility covers both the economic impacts on businesses dependent on farmers and ranchers that have suffered agricultural production losses caused by the disaster and businesses directly impacted by the disaster,” Judd said.
Small, nonfarm businesses, small agricultural cooperatives, small businesses engaged in aquaculture and most private, nonprofit organizations of any size may qualify for Economic Injury Disaster Loans (EIDLs) of up to $2 million to help meet financial obligations and operating expenses which could have been met had the disaster not occurred.
“Eligibility for these loans is based on the financial impact of the disaster only and not on any actual property damage.  These loans have an interest rate of 4% for businesses and 3% for private, nonprofit organizations, a maximum term of 30 years, and are available to small businesses and most private, nonprofits without the financial ability to offset the adverse impact without hardship,” Judd said.
By law, SBA makes EIDLs available when the U. S. Secretary of Agriculture designates an agricultural disaster.  Secretary Tom Vilsack declared this disaster at the request of California Governor Edmund G. Brown, Jr.
Businesses primarily engaged in farming or ranching are not eligible for SBA disaster assistance.  Agricultural enterprises should contact the Farm Services Agency (FSA) about the U. S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) assistance made available by the Secretary’s declaration.  However, in drought disasters nurseries are eligible for SBA disaster assistance.
Applicants may apply online using the Electronic Loan Application (ELA) via SBA’s secure Web site at https://disasterloan.sba.gov/ela. 
Disaster loan information and application forms are also available from SBA’s Customer Service Center by calling SBA toll-free at (800) 659-2955, emailing disastercustomerservice@sba.gov, or visiting SBA’s Web site at www.sba.gov/services/disasterassistance.  Individuals who are deaf or hard-of-hearing may call (800) 8778339.
The deadline to apply for these loans is May 6, 2013.
SBA Field Operations Center – West, P.O. Box 419004, Sacramento, CA 95841
Melende Ward
U.S. Small Business Administration
Public Affairs Specialist
Administrative Officer 
SBDC Project Officer
Tel:     (559) 487-5791, ext. 2709
Fax:    (559) 487-5636
eFax:  (202) 481-4525