Nominations are in for the 2011 Blue Ribbon Awards

South Lake Tahoe, CA/NV… would like to thank all those who took the time to nominate a business or individual for the 4th Annual Blue Ribbon Awards. Over the four years that the awards program has been in existence, community participation and support has increased annually by leaps and bounds. 2011 brought in a record amount of nominations, which resulted in over 100 businesses and individuals being nominated for the 8 different award catagories.

The final awards will be an announced on November 17th at Embassy Suites
from 5-8pm. This year’s program has changed from the traditional awards
luncheon to a formal dinner beginning with a cocktail reception in Embassy
Suite’s beautiful Garden Atrium. Tickets are still only $50 and will now
include an elegant three course dinner featuring local wines from El Dorado
The recipients of the Geotourism Award, Tourism Award, Experience Award,
Entrepreneur Award and the two Green Business Awards will receive
numerous promotional and advertising opportunities to help continue their
recognition in our community, as well as a year of complimentary
TahoeChamber membership. The recipients of the two types of customer
service awards will be awarded their “Perfect Day” in Tahoe. This is a
customized day to cater to all those things they’ve always wanted to do in
Tahoe but never had the opportunity.
Please make sure to show your support for those nominated by reserving your
seat for the November 17th awards dinner. Tickets are available online at….The 2011 Nominees are:
• Geotoursim Award(sponsored by El Dorado County): Angora Lakes Resort,
Tahoe Rim Trail Association, Jon Paul Gallery, Sorensen’s Resort, Tahoe
Lakeshore Lodge & Spa, and the Ski Run Boat Company.
• Tourism Award (sponsored by Lake Tahoe Visitors Authority): Getaway
Reno/Tahoe, Ski Butlers Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe Visitors Authority, Tahoe
Photographic Tours, Tahoe Rim Trail Association, Lake Tahoe Bicycle
Coalition, Borges Sleigh Rides, Edgewood Tahoe, Lakeside Inn & Casino,
MontBleu Resort Casino & Spa, Ski Run Boat Company, and Sorensen’s
• Experience Award (sponsored by South Lake Tahoe Lodging Association):
Escobar Training Grounds, Overland Meat Company, Sugarpine Bakery,
MacDuff’s Public House, South Tahoe Standup Paddle, Swiss Chalet, Tahoe
Bowl, Tahoe Derby Dames, Tahoe Rim Trail Association, Capische, Lake
Tahoe Boat Rides, Moxy Fitness, South Tahoe Crossfit, Lakeside Beach Grill,
Ski Butler’s Lake Tahoe, Straw Hat Pizza, Tahoe Tot Spot, ARAMARK Lake
Tahoe, Borges Sleigh Rides, Weidinger Public Relations, Edgewood Tahoe,
Lakeside Inn & Casino, Naked Fish, Tahoe Powder House, S.S.V., and
Sorensen’s Resort.
• Entrepreneur Award (sponsored by Getaway Reno/Tahoe): Ski Run Boat
Company, Powder House, Tahoe Tot Spot, Cakes By Grace, Straw Hat Pizza,
South Tahoe Standup Paddle, Strategic Marketing Group, Sessions Salon,
Tahoe Powderhouse, Grocery Outlet, Forever Dance, Bonafide Books, Bike
the West, Ski Butlers Lake Tahoe, Highmark Designs, Dog Dog Cat, The
Bridge Language Academy, and Apres Wine Company.
• Large Green Business Award (sponsored by Heavenly Mountain Resort):
Harrah’s & Harvey’s, South Tahoe Express, and South Lake Tahoe Public
Utility District.
• Small Green Business Award(sponsored by South Tahoe Refuse &
Recycling): Custom Floor Care, Winter’s Electric, Lake Tahoe News,
California Colors Paint & Auto, Sorensen’s Resort, Tahoe Outdoor Living,
and the Tahoe Resource Conservation District.
• Public Agency Service Award (sponsored by Tahoe Supply Company):
Nancy Kerry/City of SLT, Chris Horton/US Post Office, Russell Wigart/El
Dorado County Dept. of Transportation, Joanne Marchetta/TRPA, Judi
McCallum/El Dorado County, Dennis Slater/Douglas County Sheriff’s Office,
Gary Wiegel/TRPA, Lucy/El Dorado County, Dennis Cocking/STPUD,
Officer Aaron Crawford/SLT Police Department, and Tom Pandola/CalStar.
• Customer Service Award (sponsored by Wells Fargo): Chris
Kay/Montbleu, Brain Cohen/Overland Meat Company, Eric Guthy/Getaway
Café, Kerri Neumann/Montbleu, Dan Jansen/MacDuff’s, Scott Craig/Riva
Grill, Brain Miller/Capische, Megan Burk/Getaway Magazine, South Tahoe
Crossfit, Doug Friendshuh/Chart House, Cindy Reardon/MontBleu, Dan
Palley/Sierra Athletic Club, Kim Aynedter/Lakeside Inn & Casino, Lynn
Spencer/Spencer & Associates, Nancy Parker/Lake Tahoe Unified School
District, Paula Crenshaw M.D./Barton Internal Medicine, Rich Bodine II/Inn
by the Lake, Dana Smith/Straw Hat Pizza, Katie Schultz/Sugar Pine Bakery,
Amy Thompson/Tahoe Tot Spot, Tommy Walker/Ciera Steak & Chop House,
Cynthia Ferris-Bennett/Events, Ink., Barb Tenney/Après Wine Company,
Bryan Davis/Edgewood Tahoe, Cory Escobar/Escobar Training Grounds, Dr.
Groelz/Groelz Dentistry, Jim Warlow/The Cork and More, John
Urrutia/Mann, Urrutia, Nelson, CPAs, Mark Podesto/NorCal Beverage,
Monica Sciuto/Barton Hospital, Ron Williams/Ski Run Boat Company, Tom
Pandola/CalStar, and France Carreau/Yellow Pager.
A selection committee consisting of TahoeChamber board members, past Blue
Ribbon Award winners, and community members is in the process of
thoroughly reading through each nomination to competitively judge and
decide this year’s award winners. This award program would not be possible
without the support of our Event Sponsors; Lake Tahoe Visitors Authority and
South Tahoe Alliance of Resorts as well as our Media Sponsors; Tahoe Daily
Tribune, Lake Tahoe TV, KRLT/KOWL, K-Tahoe and Tahoe Arts &
Mountain Culture. For tickets or questions about the Awards Dinner on
November 17th please visit or call 775.588.1728.